Association Activities

About the Department

Sri Manakula Vinayagar Engineering College

L&T Techgium Contest 2017

The fame rich company L&T has taken pleasure in arranging a contest named “L&T Techgium Contest 2017”(Engineering Innovators for Tomorrow) which aims at finding Industrial Challenges followed by creation of best Innovative solution for the same. This will ensure meeting current and future needs. This platform also proves to find a new breed of associates with rich engineering skills who are capable of solving real time needs. In our department 4 batches cleared first round and shortlisted for technical presentation round.

The shortlisted teams of EEE Department are as follows:

Batch No. Name of the Team Members Year Title Guide Name
1. 1.B.Dipak yadav
4.S.Chandra moulee
III Variable speed transmission in industrial linear actuator Mr. S. John Powl
2. 1. M.Kathiravan
2. S.Rajeshkumar
3. R.Vignesh
4. N.Arul Raja
IV Gesture Controlled HUD Display in Transportation System Mr. K. Thangaraj
3. 1. M.Pavithra
2. P.Abhirami
3. T.Ramya
III Noise Canceling in Machine Mrs. S. Punitha
4. 1. S.Suchithra
2. R.Thamizharasi
3. V.Yamini
III Accessibility of Wind Turbine Generator and other accessory components Dr. K. Vijayakumar


Indian Electrical and Electronics Manufacturing Association (IEEMA) had organised World Electricity Forum “ELECRAMA 2016” during February 13th to February 17th 2016 at Bangalore International Exhibition Centre (BIEC), Bangalore. In this global gathering, eminent persons from various sectors met to discuss the future challenges in power sector, direction to shape the contours of the future power network and to identify young innovators from leading technical institutions of India through Engineering Infinite project competition.

In Engineering Infinite (EI 16) Project competition, more than 15,000 teams were applied from all over India for the ELECRAMA 2016. In Round I, 500 teams were shortlisted out of which 20 teams from Sri Manakula Vinayagar Engineering College. In Round II, 70 teams were selected as the final participants for the National Level project competition. In this regard, 5 teams with a total of 18 students from Sri Manakula Vinayagar Engineering College belong to the department of Electrical and Electronics Engineering (final year) were selected and received financial grant of Rs.2,00,000 by IEEEMA for developing project models. These 5 teams were the largest group of students from a single college in the ELECRAMA project competition 2016.

Various Industrial executives visited and appreciated those projects. In the Final event of the project competition “Innovation day ” was celebrated in which Special project recognition award was given to the project titled “Design and fabrication of high frequency pulse transformer using soft magnetic composite” done by Chitrabalan.M , Manikandan.A , Kathir.A and Vigneshwaran. S, the students of Sri Manakula Vinayagar Engineering College belonging to Electrical and Electronics Engineering Department under the guidance of Dr.K.VijayaKumar.

These award winning students were appreciated for their innovative work by Sri Manakula Vinayagar Educational Trust Chairman and Managing Director Shri. M.Dhanasekaran, Vice chairman Shri. S.V.Sugumaran, Secretary Dr.K.Narayanaswamy, Director cum Principal Dr.V.S.K.Venkatachalapathy, Head of the Department Dr.S.Anbumalar and the faculties belonging to the department of Electrical and Electronics Engineering


Indian Electrical & Electronics Manufacturer’s Association (IEEMA) is the apex industry association of800 plus manufacturers of electrical, industrial electronics and allied equipment in India.It holds product specific conference and seminars and large exhibitions such as “ELECRAMA” which is the world’s largest forum for the electrical transmission & distribution of equipment industries.Twenty projects have been submitted to ELECRAMA through TRIGRTRO Club. Five final year projects are selected for the financial grant of Rs 14,000 for each project by IEEMA. The created model is exhibited in Bengaluru. The selected list of students & their titles are as follows:

Research proposals-ELECRAMA-Engineers Infinite 2016

Sl. No. Project Title Participant Name Year / Sem Date
1. Design of high frequency transformer using SMC material Chitrabalan.M


13-17 February 2016
2. Low cost high efficiency SRM fabrication for light Electrical vehicle Vasanth
3. Optimal placement of automatic power factor controller in substation using FDLF analysis Kaviya. A
Pavithra. S
Sivapriya. G
Sivakami. G
4. Brain controlled Electric wheel chair for Disabled People Barath. T
5. Design and implementation of hybrid wind turbine with permanent magnet generatori Gayathri. N
Thenmozhi. N
Priyadharshini. D
Shangavi. B

Our EEE students M.Chitrabalan, A.Kathir, S.Vigneshwaran, A.Manikandan from final year EEE have received “SPECIAL MENTIONED PROJECT AWARD” for the project titled “DESIGN AND FABRICATION OF HIGH FREQUENCY PULSE TRANSFORMER USING SOFT MAGNETIC COMPOSITE MATERIAL” from Dr.Y.S.Rajan,ISRO and Mr.Chandrashekar,IEEMA student project coordinator, held at Bangalore on 17/02/2016.


SWICON Conference organized by IEEMA and it was held at Mumbai on 26th& 27th November,2015. It provides an international platform for the presentation and discussion on the latest developments in the field of Switching, Protection, Control and Communication for high voltage power systems. The details of the paper presentation by our students are given below:

Research papers-SWICON 2015

Sl. No. Project Title Participant Name Year / Sem Date
1. Design of self- resettable fuses for distribution transformer and its thermal analysis using finite element method G.Sivakami

26th & 27th November,2015
2. Breakdown voltage and reverse recovery rate estimation of supercritical nitrogen plasma switch R.Dhivya
3. Improving insulation in arc medium by Trifluroiodomethane (CF3I) in circuit breaker R.Bavithra
4. Estimation of breakdown voltage & recovery rate of super critical nitrogen plasma switch D.Priyadarshini